The finalists for the Employment Related Services Association (ERSA) Employability Awards 2015, sponsored by Seetec, were announced today at ERSA’s AGM in central London.

The ERSA Employability Awards, now in their third year, seek to celebrate and champion the exceptional people and organisations working across the sector to help jobseekers in their journey towards employment, including specialist employment support organisations, personal advisors, employers and jobseekers themselves. 

With entrants from charities, private companies, housing associations, social enterprises and local authorities, amongst others, the awards highlight the diversity of employment support in the UK.

This year’s award judges were Ed Cox, Director of IPPR North; Elisabeth Paulson, Investment Director, Impetus PEF; and John Michalski, Commercial Director, Department for Work and Pensions. ERSA received over 200 award entries, a record breaking number.

The award winners will be announced at a ceremony on June 16 in central London hosted by Baroness Stedman-Scott.

Kirsty McHugh, Chief Executive, ERSA, said:

“The employment support sector does a tremendous job helping jobseekers into work. But often we see the sector just in terms of figures, whether that’s numbers into work or benefits saved.  However, these miss the true story of hard work and commitment by organisations, advisers, employers and the jobseekers themselves.  

“All our finalists have an incredible story to tell, be it the journey of jobseekers who overcome great adversity to enter the workforce or the organisations who try something different to change people’s lives. 
The awards provide a space for these stories to be heard; I hope you enjoy them as much as I have.”  
The finalists in each category are as follows:

Innovation Award sponsored by Advanced Personnel Management
Recognising a provider who has pioneered innovative approaches and solutions within the employment related services market
• Business in the Community’s Ban the Box Campaign
• MyGo Youth Employment Service (nominated by EOS)
• A4e’s PARC App Applied Behavioural Science Programme 
• Volition

Disability Employment Award sponsored by Shaw Trust
Recognising an employment services provider who has demonstrated exceptional commitment in supporting jobseekers with disabilities and health conditions to achieve sustained employment
• Employment and Disability Service (EADs)
• GATES (Gateshead Access to Employment Services)
• Papworth Trust

Youth Employment Award sponsored by Ingeus
Recognising an employment services provider who has demonstrated exceptional commitment in delivering employment services to young people
• Employment Links Partnership (nominated by G4S Employment Support Services)
• Barnardo’s Palmersville Training
• Pertemps People Development Group (PPDG)
• Resurgo Trust, Spear Employment Initiative

Large Employer of the Year sponsored by Avanta
Recognising a large employer who has demonstrated exceptional commitment in creating opportunities for disadvantaged and long term unemployed jobseekers
• Affinity Sutton
• Carillion PLC (nominated by Business in the Community)
• Cleshar Contract Services (nominated by Shaw Trust/ Ingeus/ Maximus/ Seetec/ A4e/ Reed in Partnership/ Transport for London)
• Poundbakery (nominated by Intraining)

Small or Medium Employer of the Year Award sponsored by Campbell Page
Recognising a small or medium employer who has demonstrated exceptional commitment in creating opportunities for disadvantaged and long term unemployed jobseekers
• Baxter Life Care Ltd, Blackpool (nominated by Intraining)
• The Blue Seafood Company (nominated by Working Links)
• The Kent Potato Company (nominated by RBLI)

Supply Chain Partner of the Year Award sponsored by Intraining
Recognising excellence as a subcontractor in the field of employment related services
• Elite Supported Employment Agency
• Papworth Trust
• Portsmouth Craft & Manufacturing Industry (nominated by G4S Employment Support Services)
• Richmond Fellowship Employment Services (nominated by G4S Employment Support Services)
• Tai Calon Community Housing Trust
• Zest (nominated by A4e)

Advisor of the Year Award sponsored by Alderwood
Recognising an employment adviser who has demonstrated exceptional commitment in a frontline role
• Belinda (Billie) Hunt, RBLI
• Deborah Ferris, Maximus
• Jill Sheard (Armstrong Works) nominated by G4S
• Mohammed Ali, A4e

Employability Learner of the Year Award sponsored by the Institute of Employability Professionals (IEP)
Recognising the commitment of a member of staff to develop their own learning and/or that of others in order to support their organisation to improve the service they offer their customers.
• Gill Austen, Seetec
• Julie Eastwood, Kennedy Scott
• Sarah Lefley, Seetec

Significant Achievement Award sponsored by Affinity Sutton
Recognising a specific jobseeker who has demonstrated exceptional commitment to overcoming barriers to enter and maintain work
• Alta Sheridan nominated by The Twist Partnership
• Alan Hydon nominated by Intraining
• Chris Oliver nominated by Pluss
• Glenn Moore nominated by A4e
• Hope Whitmore nominated by Ingeus

There is no shortlist for the final category of Lifetime Achievement award. The winner will be announced at the awards ceremony taking place on 16 June.


Press enquiries should be directed to Anna Robin on 020 3757 9415

Notes to Editors

1. The Employment Related Services Association (ERSA) is the representative body for the employment support sector.
2. ERSA’s membership spans the private, voluntary and public sectors and ranges from large multi-nationals through to small specialist charities.  It has 188 members, including all prime contractors of the Work Programme, Work Choice and other major programmes. The majority of its members are not for profit.
3. The 2015 ERSA Employability Awards headline sponsor is Seetec.